TO NIJO

The lamp cast dull shadows on my wall
Embers die down as the charcoal stove grow cold
Minutes after I pick the call
I learn of my companion’s tragic departure, oh! Barely two and a half decades old.
I recall fondly what merry made we in years bygone
On my bed, oh! Tonight I drink alone without cheer.
Who’d have guessed our brief encounter would be the last one?
Nauseated by gin, but unable to puke, I break in to bitter tears
And though the endless river flows to the unknown never to return
Years after year I’ll curse at that murderer’s gun!

2 thoughts on “TO NIJO

    1. Thank you very much – I’m glad you like this piece – -I’m still grieving the death of one of my best friends – I considered him my younger brother – Who will walk with me the same road now ?

Leave a Reply

