IN DISARRAY

Strong winds blow in the rainy season
Dark cloud hang down from the sky;
My mind is still tangled in endless considerations.
Reports from home come in with a sad reply
In the moonless night, my grief is keen.
The tidings of his being taken ill sorrows me deeply,
He daily query’s what date I can be seen!
Oh! I’d pay him a visit but I have no means and my home district is far away
But what can I say circumstances so dire?
All I can do is regret the passing days.
The pole-stars turn; chilled dew put out the last signs of fire.
My heart is in disarray.

One thought on “IN DISARRAY

Leave a Reply

