PINING ON A RIVER BANK

By a gurgling stream, I’m seated on a prominent rock
All alone in a bamboo bower; I’m miserable.
The sky line is clear, but I’m homesick.
I still remember her kind lips flanked by shy dimples;
Reading aloud to her admirer, time would pass unnoticed.
Startled birds take wing in a noisy manner,
Before I’m aware, my heart burns with nostalgia; I’m depressed.
The clear stream flows on to empty into the mighty river
before dusk, raw fragrances burst up in my nostrils and about, clouds heave as if to weep.
My longing is still steep!

6 thoughts on “PINING ON A RIVER BANK

Leave a Reply

