ON THE NIGHT OF PARTING

Furious rains howl all night,
Driving winds keep me awake till daylight
Gazing aimlessly through a dim window
Gradually stale fragrances begin to renew my old sorrows;
Uncertain about tomorrow,
Who’d know the weight of grief piled on my midnight -pillow?
Too depressed to sigh, on a small bed I toss and lay mutely.
With peers of old and to keep contact, in recently years have mingled rarely.
Oh! So gloomy and lonely has grown my youth.
Too weary to cry, I am currently like a faded wreath.
While I’d hoped to fly high or wide without regrets
Who’d have imagined this desperate circumstances would get?
Chewing a cud of grief, in gin, still I find no relief.

9 thoughts on “ON THE NIGHT OF PARTING

Leave a Reply

