ON THE 23RD DAY OF PARTING

Laying back under a revealing net

On pillow, the back in a suitable posture is set.

Feet outspread and forcing my person to read;

Unable to apply concentrate to study, I rub eyes, and idly hang the heavy head.

This is only the first month apart.

Our extreme pleasures of the past have now turned to miserable longing;

At this moment, what preoccupies your lonely heart?

Hands lowered at my side, who’d discern my brutal grieving!

Sounds of midnight wind and odors of scented dust fill my room.

Swarms of buzzing mosquitoes dive and soar to the painted roof.

For how long will I count on fingers dashing tears piled on the floor?

Longing endlessly for you since have  topped my idle pursuits,

Can vainly embracing your portrait on sick bed bear any fruit?

Instead of reciting my pent-up sentiments, as usual, backwards,

Tonight, too distressed to compose on a colored pad

I’ll convey my knotty sorrow in a song facing homeward.

11 thoughts on “ON THE 23RD DAY OF PARTING

  1. Thank you for visiting my blog. Very glad if you like what I write. I have not hiding anywhere. I think my story-poem “I Had an Asthma Attack” gives an idea of where I am in many respects. I hope you will take a look at it.

    1. you have rightly noted that English is not my first language, in fact it is my third language.some poems in this blog have been written using a Bantu language.this language is related to Swahili.thanks for taking interest.feel free to ask any other question.
      ngamia fujo is my face book name,@ngamiafujo twitter,feel free to invite me.

Leave a Reply

