COUNTING ROLLING TEARS

Robinia in Australia !?
Robinia in Australia !? (Photo credit: Tatters:))

 

 

Depressed by my failure to procure her back,

To dispel bitter resentments, in solitary
drinking,

I indulge deeply at the secluded river bank.

Regretting, brooding, lamenting

Contemplating my heartfelt despairs

All my life I have vainly composed pairs of heart-broken lines.

Concerning my dear and dearly among clustered pines,

How many poems in rhymes have I chanted drunkenly at midnight

On a dull July hour, and in a far off simple town kindled with sparse lamps
lights?

Forever I long again for the past and grief tirelessly over my current
plight.

3 thoughts on “COUNTING ROLLING TEARS

  1. My two cents: I think your last lines would be even more effective without the exclamation point. This punctuation really is best used with caution. It tends to tip the scale and achieve the unintended effect with the overzeal. Please delete comment. And I would not have spent the time if I didn’t care.

Leave a Reply

